• Wishlist
  • Login / RegisterRegister
  • 0

Sense & Sensibility, Northanger Abbey & Persuasion


Product Details


Jane Austen’s Sense & Sensibility, Northanger Abbey & Persuasion
ISBN: 9781841653235
Author: Hugh Thomson
Publisher: Pitkin Publishing
Format: Paperback
Dimensions: 24 x 17cm
Book Condition: NEW


2 in stock



Jane Austen’s classic novels

Enjoy these vintage illustrations of Jane Austen’s classic novels: Sense and Sensibility; Northanger Abbey and Persuasion. Gain insight into iconic images associated with Jane Austen’s classic works and enjoy the beautiful illustrations of these much-loved stories.


About the author of Jane Austen’s classic novels

English novelist Jane Austen ( 16 December 1775 – 18 July 1817) was mainly known for six novels. As a result,  she interpreted, critiqued, and commented in these books upon the British upper class of the end of the 1800s.


Austen frequently explores the role of marriage in securing women’s social standing and economic security in her plots. During the latter half of the 18th century, she was writing works that critiqued the novels of sensibility. And laid the grounds for literary realism in the 19th century.


Critics, scholars, and students have all praised her for her use of biting irony. They have also appreciated her realism, humour, and social commentary. She became successful as a published author with Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), and Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1816).


Her other novels are Northanger Abbey and Persuasion both, published posthumously in 1818. She also started another, ultimately called Sanditon, but she died before completing it. Her other writings include three volumes of juvenile literature in manuscript form, the short novel Lady Susan, and another novel called The Watsons that she never finished.


Jane Austen was an anonymously published author and had moderate success. And little fame during her lifetime, her six full-length novels have been in print since their publication. As a result of the republication and illustration of her novels by Ferdinand Pickering, in Richard Bentley’s series of Standard Novels, in 1833, she gained a substantial amount of posthumous reputation.


Jane Austen’s legacy

Their popularity and acclaim gradually grew.

A family member of Jane Austen published a memoir of her in 1869. Exactly, fifty-two years after Jane Austen’s death. Nevertheless, the memoir offered an intriguing overview of her writing career and unmarried life that sparked an interest among the affluent.


Many literary essays and anthologies have taken upon the works of Austen. Film adaptations of her books include Pride and Prejudice in 1940 as well as more recent productions like Sense and Sensibility (1995), Emma (1996), Mansfield Park (1999), Pride & Prejudice (2005), Love & Friendship (2016), and Emma (2020).


If you like Jane Austen’s work, check out Jane Austen’s Guide to Dating: The Regency Rules


Jane Austen’s Guide to Dating: The Regency Rules


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.